Way to find my passion in life

by hwilliams773

HeatherWilliamsLately I’ve felt as if I were floundering about in life. “What do I want to do?”, “Am I really happy?”, “What do I really want to be doing with my life?”. I have been employed for the last 18 years. I can’t even remember the last time I had this much idle time on my hands. This past Friday was my last day at my job, as I was let go. Now, I cannot say that I’m angry about being let go, but I’ve always left on my own terms with a plan for the next steps in my life. So it came to a bit of a shock when my boss, who I deeply respect called me in for a meeting towards the end of the day and blurted out, “Today is your last day.” as if ripping a bandage off. I was stunned, but kind of saw it coming. I was coasting. I was working and happy with the environment, but wasn’t sure if I was truly happy doing what I was doing.

I of course cried, as I shook the hand of probably the best boss I’ve yet to have in my short time working, but I felt a sense of relief AND motivation to escape the mundane feeling looming overhead and really focus on getting to the core of what I would truly be happy doing and collecting paycheck for. I was more sad to leave such a great work environment and all of my work friends who made the work week so great. If that is the worst thing to miss out on, then it makes more sense to figure out your life now before I wake up 30 years from now utterly and completely miserable. I suppose to add to my 2014 list of goals would be to find my passion. How do I plan on finding my passion? Well:

  • Make a list of things that you love, hate and make you cry
  • Do that whole Pro/Con list for each love and cry list
  • Compare/Contrast each
  • I’ve been told to read “The Alchemist
  • Really pray, think, meditate on what choices you think you’ve narrowed down
  • Start looking for positions that fit within the final choices on your list

Well, that’s all I really have for a way to find my passion. Have any suggestions for me? Leave a comment below. Wish me luck in narrowing down my passion, folks!

