Strut Worthy Song

by hwilliams773

CatwalkSo, we all have those songs that just make us want to take to the sidewalk as if it were a catwalk. I am DEF one guilty of this. However, I don’t hold back. I accept it and work it out like I’m a Victoria Secret model. I cannot contain myself nor do I feel that I have to. I walk the pavement like a high fashion model showing off the ‘tude and I don’t even care who gives me the weird looks (trust me, I get ’em).

After watching the Prancercise video shared by The Huffington Post this week and seeing some pretty great parodies, especially THIS one, I found some new strut inducing tunes that completely made my Friday night! First off, I haven’t really listened much of “Get Lucky” by Daft Punk and Pharrell Williams, instead dancing at my desk for the rest of the afternoon. I shared the parody with my friend, Ifer (that’s my nickname for her), and she reminded me of the recently (Late March) released single by Robin Thicke featuring Pharrell Williams and T.I. I only saw the video once and was turned off by the topless ladies, but once hearing the song again, I. Was. HOOKED. Such an infectious beat and the catchy tune and lyrics made it an instant repeat on my walk to the gym for my Friday evening boxing class. Since the bus was going to take way too long to get to my point A, I decided to walk the 1.5 miles to point B and carried my Swagu with me as I sashayed down Belmont Ave., in case the bus made a surprise appearance. I definitely noticed some glares, but per usual, I really didn’t care. I had great music close to blaring in my ears and I was feelin’ sassy.

Now what makes a strut worthy song, you may be wondering. It’s not just a great steady beat to walk to, but it’s everything about it – the beat, the melody, the lyrics, the attitude you hear through the vocalist. It all converges into this whole experience that makes you feel otherworldly and forget about anyone else sharing your sidewalk. There is no denial that everyone has a song that makes them want to shake their booty or helps them get through a run or get their pump on, etc., and many forget that strutting it out is a great stress reliever and makes you feel oh so good! Why not show how you feel in the easiest way possible! Often times, you may even get notice and complimented on your stride. Once my friend told me I had the fierceness of one Mrs Sasha Fierce herself, Queen Beyoncé. Ha! Whether it be true or not, it’s great not to hold back and let the liveliness shine through!

So without further ado, I’ve compiled a list of strut worthy songs that often make me feel like wearing those boots made for walking’. Keep in mind some of these are DEF oldies, but goodies, mixed with noobies and potentially corny ones that still deserve their spot on the list.

Sassy Strut inducing tunes not in any particular order:

Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. T.I & Pharrell
Get Lucky – Daft Punk feat Pharrell Williams
212 – Azealia Banks and Lazy Jay
Paint it Black – The Rolling Stones
Justify My Thug – Jay Z
Miami 2 Ibiza – Swedish House Mafia feat Tinie Tempah
Phenomena – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Beyoncé (I know that’s not a song) Pretty much and non-ballad by Beyoncé
New in Town – Little Boots
Son of a Gun – Janet Jackson
Bossy – Kelis feat. Too $hort
Don’t Call Me Baby – Madison Avenue
She Wants to Move – N.E.R.D.
Mercy – Kanye West, Big Sean, Pusha T, and 2 Chainz
Rumour Has It – Adele
Tigerlily – La Roux
My Favorite Game – The Cranberries
Let’s Dance – David Bowie
Ni**as in Paris – Kanye West and Jay Z
100$ Bill – Jay Z
I Like The Way You Move – Bodyrockers
Clique – Kanye West, Jay-Z, and Big Sean
What You Know – Two Door Cinema Club
Shut Up And Let me Go – The Ting Tings
Don’t Move – Phantogram
Super Massive Black Hole – Muse
Heartbeat – Childish Gambino
Complaint Department – Lykke Li
Hang You From The Heavens – The Dead Weather
Down Boy – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Trick Me – Kelis
Army of Me – Bjork
Everyone Nose – N.E.R.D.
Time is Running Out – Muse
The Motto – Drake and Lil Wayne
And We Danced – Macklemore feat. Ziggy Stardust
Stayin’ Alive – Bee Gees
Canned Heat – Jamiroquai
I See You Baby – Groove Armada feat Fatboy Slim
Satisfaction – Benny Benassi
Scream – Starkillers
Hot-n-Fun (Boys Noize Remix) – N.E.R.D.
Greyhound – Swedish House Mafia

922689_10151356169866680_1125287395_nIn case you don’t feel like listening to each individual song, here is the short list on Spotify for your convenience:

So there’s a short list of some great songs to parade about town to. What are some strut inducing songs you enjoy swishing about to?